Share |


Lawrence Cooke

Peace Innovator Award 

"The Community Dispute Resolution Centers Program represents the Unified Court System's commitment to provide citizens with opportunities to develop their own solutions to the issues that might otherwise bring them to court." - Honorable Lawrence K. Marks, Chief Administrative Judge

At the annual NYSDRA Conference, NYSDRA honors an individual or organization that has provided innovative leadership in the field, based upon a local or NYS state-based initiative, innovative in terms of a new practice in ADR or application of ADR practices in a new area, setting or population.  

    Chief Judge Lawrence H. Cooke influential in promoting the field of alternative dispute resolution in the NYS Court system. He implemented a plan to clear the backlog by expanding arbitration and establishing mediation in the courts and was instrumental in starting the Community Dispute Resolution Centers program. Judge Cooke was born in Monticello in Sullivan County on October 15, 1914. After graduating from Albany Law School, he was admitted to the Bar in 1939. He was elected in 1955 as County Judge and Surrogate of Sullivan County and re-elected in 1959. In 1961, he was elected a Justice of the Supreme Court for the Third Judicial District. He was designated to the Appellate Division, Third Department, in 1968 by Gov. Rockefeller and served there until his election to the Court of Appeals in 1974. He was appointed the 20th Chief Judge by Gov. Carey on January 2, 1979. He retired from the Court of Appeals at the end of 1984 at the age of 70. He died in 2000.

Past Recipients of the Lawrence Cooke Peace Innovator Award

2018 Senator John Bonacic 
2017 Susan Herman
2016 Jody Miller
2015 Lisa Hicks-Yackel
2014 Sherry Walker-Cowart
2013 Roz Magidson
2012 John McCullough
2011 Mark Kleiman
2010 Mark Collins
2009 Judy Saul
2008 Maria Volpe
2007 Duke Fisher
2006 Michele Kirschbaum and Lourdes Rivera-Putz
2005 Judge Sharon S. Townsend, District Administrative Judge
2005 Judge Janice Rosa, Supreme Court Justice
2004 Justice Doris Ling-Cohan and Justice Fern Fisher
2003 Sandy Mindell and Herbert Israel
2002 Judge Joseph Lauria